REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING February 21, 2018

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on February 21, 2018 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Charlie Blixt, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Michael Forsgren, Anne Peterson, Kathy Ouren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Randi Anderson, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, CJ Holl, Barb Ripley, Brent Frazier, Cary Haugrud, Becky Wontor, Tonya Johnson, Hannah Loerzel, Jeff Peter, Jill Roisum, Justin VerDorn, Tommy Thach, Trevor Steeves, John Gullingsrud, Lou Hoglund, Rachel Lynnes, Najima Ahmed.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Charlie Blixt.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Students presented information about Minnesota Honor Society.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes of the regular meetings on January 3, 8, 18 2018

Revenue and Expenditure Guidelines

Financial claims-bills payable

Treasurer's report

Investment log

Accept donations:

To SADD America Legion Auxiliary - \$50

VFW Post 5252 - \$100

To FFA MN National Bank - \$125

To scholarships for a trade scholarship – Dakota Supply Group - \$250

To Al Siegle Scholarship – Robin and Carla Johnson - \$500

To scholarhips in memory of Lovell Dahl – Dan & Karen Jongeward - \$10

To scholarships – Lake Region Electric Trust - \$500

To PRHS for Spheros Educational Equipment – Pelican Rapids Rotary - \$600

Personnel:

Accept the resignation of Dr. Ed Richardson as Asst. Baseball coach

Hire Heidi Smith as .17 Achievement & Integration specialist effective 3/5/18

Hire Steve Sorenson as a Long Term substitute for linda Grefsrud from 3/6/18 to the end of the school year.

The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Anne Peterson moved to approve the senior privileges for 2018 as presented. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the resignation of Connie Evenson effective May 25, 2018. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the resignation of Joyce Burnham effective May 25, 2018. The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve a request from Janell Schmidt for an extended leave of absence starting in August of 2018. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve a request from Janell Schmidt that the district will pay the district share of TRA for the period August, 2018 until December, 2018 at which time he intends to retire. The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the seniority list as presented. The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 1st reading of Policy 533-Wellness. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Michael Forsgren moved to approve the 2nd reading of Policy 509-Enrollment of Nonresident Students. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to set a special meeting on Wednesday, March 7 at 6:30 pm with the work session to follow. The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to go to closed session to discuss negotiations strategy. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Charlie Blixt, Chair	Michael Forsgren, Clerk